Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 55
  1. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lanarkshire
    Posts
    4,948

    Default Re: Atom Six Tachyon 9ft 6wt Review

    Quote Originally Posted by rs2ford View Post
    I also like Steve's work, having owned the Dan Craft FT in 5 and 6wt's. Great casting tools and very light too. My only criticism is that i found them a bit too stiff from the butt to the 3rd section after all day use. (I am not a big fan of the TCR/TCX/MX type rods either) The finish on them was superb and if he has something more medium fast to suit my old age then i would try it for sure.
    He is also a pleasure to deal with and his customer service is second to none.

    Cheers Diarmid.

    I have the 6wt rod here Diarmid if you fancy a shot?
    I was also impressed with the Dan craft FT rod so I bought a blank to build this winter.
    It will not be as pretty as Steves work but i am looking forward to building it.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Cheddar
    Posts
    377

    Default Re: Atom Six Tachyon 9ft 6wt Review

    Quote Originally Posted by smudger564 View Post
    Hi All, It's the 10ft #7 that's a real eye opener. Super sharp recovery.

    That's the next rod for me.

    Best regards

    Stuart
    As I said earlier, that's the one I tested recently. To his credit Steve has worked hard to get the blank right and it has really paid off with a superb casting and fishing tool.

    All the talk on here has whetted my appetite and I have taken the plunge and put the order in. Please don't tell the wife though!

    There'll be a Greys G-Tec going up for sale soon to help offset the costs!
    Andrew W

    "Maybe all one can do is hope to end up with the right regrets." Arthur Miller

  3. #13
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Market Drayton, Shropshire
    Posts
    1,938
    Blog Entries
    6

    Default Re: Atom Six Tachyon 9ft 6wt Review

    Hi Andrew, I only recently tried the new Tachyon 10ft #7. That was done in comparison to a Hardy Sintrix 10ft 7#.

    The cosmetics on Steve's rod were of a much higher standard, especially when Hardy are asking you to fork out so much for their rod.

    Ok, Hardy have some gucci resin in their's but the Tachyon recovered through the casting stroke with lightning speed against a slower Sintrix.

    I tried the 9ft 5# Stevie was blending before his house build and that was awesome too.

    At this time, there aren't too many using the Tachyon's in people's hands, but it's only a matter of time and before people find out about these rods. They are superb rods that not only look the part, but perform well above their price tag. You can buy two of Steve's rods for the price of a sub standard rod that Hardy put out.

    I think the Competition boys will love these. We'll just have to see eh?

    Best regards

    Stuart
    Last edited by smudger564; 28-09-2011 at 12:44 PM. Reason: adding info

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Cheddar
    Posts
    377

    Default Re: Atom Six Tachyon 9ft 6wt Review

    Stuart

    I have bought the Tachyon 10 ft #7 precisely for comp fishing (BRFFA Emergers).

    It was so comfortable in the hand and the quality of the blank is awesome, both for the recovery speed and for the smoothness . It was sensitive when nymphing but had some real steel to whack out a Di line and strip it back.

    I absolutely agree about the finish as well. And of course with these being hand built you can specify something very individual and high quality.

    And it's built in the UK!

    Result - I can't wait for it to arrive (no pressure Steve!)
    Andrew W

    "Maybe all one can do is hope to end up with the right regrets." Arthur Miller

  5. #15

    Default Re: Atom Six Tachyon 9ft 6wt Review

    Quote Originally Posted by gar73 View Post
    The finish of Steve's rods is amazing. I am waiting to try a 9ft 5wt Neutrino and have held off the Sintrix's, One's, Boron IIIX, Fario's until I have tried it.
    I have one of Steve's Dan Craft 9' #4 FT's, I also own Sage, Winston and Scott rods and Steve's rod is the best finished of the lot. Lovely cork, beautiful wraps, unique reel seat...etc etc. it has it all. On top of that he is a top man to deal with and nothing is 'too much trouble'. Have bought too many new rods this season, but I too am definitely looking forward to trying his Neutrino, with a view to having him build me one for next season... if he isn't too snowed under with orders of course!

    Andrew

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Stockton-on-Tees
    Posts
    707

    Default Re: Atom Six Tachyon 9ft 6wt Review

    Steve's sent me the 10ft 7wt Tachyon and a Pacbay 9ft 5wt to try. It should be with me to try tomorrow for 2-3 days.

    I look forward to trying them.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    An Aussie in Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,133

    Default Re: Atom Six Tachyon 9ft 6wt Review

    I have been road testing a 10' 3 wt Pacbay blank. Simply one of the best rods that I have used. This blank is a fast taper and perfect for flicking spiders all over the place. It will become the basis for a new rod from Steve.
    Technical Director FFM UK
    Italian Casting Style

    **Beetle Bailey**

  8. #18
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Market Drayton, Shropshire
    Posts
    1,938
    Blog Entries
    6

    Default Re: Atom Six Tachyon 9ft 6wt Review

    Personally speaking, I think the Tachyon range has come on leaps and bounds. From the early trial days, to what is now a perfect rod for me.

    I now regularly use the Rangefinder line from Airflo, with it's 65ft head and this rod has no trouble working that line through the rings. I've mentioned before about this rod becoming a firm favourite with the Competition regulars and it will.

    Ask Steve to send you one to try for yourself. After all it's one thing for someone to tell you how the rod feels, but until you get to try it, the words don't mean much.

    Isn't it what we're all after? A rod that is comfortable to handle, with zero tip vibration and has cosmteics that make a rod look good too.

    Ticks all the boxes for me Stevie.

    Best Regards

    Stuart

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Stockton-on-Tees
    Posts
    707

    Default Re: Atom Six Tachyon 9ft 6wt Review

    I tried the 10ft 7wt Tachton today. Simply awesome. I have never seen a rod that can belt a line out but still remain a real fishing rod. They have always never really performed well in both area's.

    The Tachyon from Steve (Atomsix) is amazing. People need to try this rod. My old man was even blown away on his very first cast. He liked it with a 8wt line I liked it with a Snowbee xd 7wt.

    Great work Steve. Now when can I have my 5wt.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Stockton-on-Tees
    Posts
    707

    Default Re: Atom Six Tachyon 9ft 6wt Review

    I also tried the Pac bay 9ft 5wt quickline rod. A great rod for the price lighter and slighly stiffer than a g-tec. It performed well with a snowbee xs wf5 perfectly. It felt like a user friendly Sage TCR crossed with an XP. Add Steve's build quality and you have a great rod.
    Last edited by gar73; 01-10-2011 at 12:57 PM.

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Zenith/Atom six 9ft 6 weight for sale
    By edd7 in forum Fishing Rods and Outfits Classifieds
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-09-2011, 09:44 PM
  2. Zenith/Atom six flyrod for sale
    By edd7 in forum Fishing Rods and Outfits Classifieds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 26-08-2011, 06:56 PM
  3. Tacyon and Nutrino rods from Atom 6
    By Frank in forum Fly Fishing Tackle Reviews and Member Ratings
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-04-2011, 02:20 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •