Absolute Newby!

Toeboe

Hi all
I have for many years loved the idea of fly fishing as It's always looked to me to be a more engaging aspect of the sport, not to mention the idyllic locations. I can already hear counter claims from the coarse fishermen lol.
Anyway I have decide as I'm due to retire this year I shall take the sport up. This is where it gets tricky, apart from browsing the internet, I am a complete and utter day 1 starter!
I haven't got a stick of equipment and don't know where to start. So to say I'm looking for some beginners advice would be an understatement. I have had a bewildering wander around my local Go Outdoors though lol.
I'm on the verge of enrolling in a beginners 1 day course at Midlands Fly Fishing, which seems to me to be a good place to start, is reasonably priced and only an hours drive south from me.
So in a nutshell, I need some advice lol

Mrtrout

Where will you be fishing, rivers or stillwaters?
Welcome by the way, you’ll learn lots on here.
S.

Toeboe

I'm guessing by that there is a different rod for each. I'm probably thinking more for rivers, although I guess it could be both.
Thanks for the welcome S

Mrtrout

In general your set up for rivers can be much different, rods tend to be a bit larger with heavier lines for lures etc, not always but generally.
Rivers it will depend on size, small streams to big rivers, some fish with 7ft rods up to 9ft, so we need to know what venues you intend to fish at to advise you properly.
its an expensive minefield out there for rods and reels.
S.

mrnotherone