Angling culture in the UK

Caecilius

Hello all, (and apologies in advance for the very long post!l

I'm based in Australia and have just joined this forum after browsing many threads over the years. I hope you're all faring well abroad, and hope that the situation will improve soon.

I first became interested in fly fishing a few years ago, mainly fishing small streams and some of the lakes in the west of our state. I live in the southern part of the country, where the climate is cool enough for trout to inhabit many waters. Having mainly been self taught, and sadly, often too busy to fish as often as I'd like, I spend more time reading, talking, and watching YouTube videos about fly fishing.

Many of the fly fishing and general angling videos I watch are produced by fishermen from the UK, where I have become well acquainted with the most common styles of fishing (namely coarse, sea and fly/game) and have learnt quite a lot from these videos. Watching all of this content has made me very interested in the attitudes and culture surrounding angling in the UK, as I think there is a marked difference between your attitudes and those of American and Australian anglers. My impressions are that, generally speaking, anglers in the UK take their fishing more seriously, and for lack of a better term, seem more 'appreciative' of their quarry. Of course, this could all be chalked up to selection bias, given that I'm watching and reading content produced by people passionate enough to create it.