Brown or brown/rainbow cross?

iainmortimer

I finally had the excuse (I was driving past for work) to drop in and fish one of my club waters and boy was it good to wet a line again after so long being dry. I only managed to grab 3 hours before I had to get going again. A few fish were rising but I couldn't raise a thing on dries and so on went my trusted black buzzer and a few casts later I had a nice 24" rainbow to the net followed by another 30 minutes later. My final fish before I went back to playing with dries (no success again...) was a nice brown as below. However, it had a very broad pink flank much the same as a rainbow and very few spots which is something I have seen in photo's a few times from other waters. That made me ponder on whether fish with that colouration are 'true' browns genetically or if genetically they are a rainbow/brown cross.

Does anyone in the business know? Not that I'm bothered one way or the other, just interested as I have little knowledge of breeding programs to get them bigger, faster.

Its not a brilliant photo for as its catch and release I rarely put them in a net or on the bank.

brown or rainbow cross.png

matoakwell

The "pink" looks like it's caused be the light going through the water. It can't be seen on the part of the body that's out of the water

Sent from my CPH1979 using Tapatalk

JohnH

Brown, I have seen that pink-ish sheen sometimes on browns I've caught.

Loxie can possibly advise here. Way back in the dim far distant when I started fly fishing, I recall one of the Midlands reservoirs, maybe in Derbyshire, claiming they planned to, or had, stock with brown / rainbow crosses called, somewhat unimaginatively, "brownbows". They seem to have disappeared without trace. Tell me I'm not dreaming this, and is there a back story ?

iainmortimer

The "pink" looks like it's caused be the light going through the water. It can't be seen on the part of the body that's out of the water

Sent from my CPH1979 using Tapatalk