Carbon Fibre Handles

Rob Edmunds

Carbon fly rod handles are becoming more popular but I still have reservations, is it just another load of marketing hype from the tackle industry ??

Has anyone tried them ?

Are they more sensitive ( than cork) as claimed?

Do they last well, are they robust?

Do they slip in your hand when casting or when wet?

Do they add too much weight to the rod?

If anyone has first hand experience or opinions I'd be very keen to hear them

Cheers Rob

Rhithrogena

I have no experience of these.
But I guess stiff handles DO add sensitivity, the same as stiff blanks did....
I have tried a hardwood handle (beech) and it felt fab.....

Brennan

I have a lure rod with a carbon fibre monocoque grip and it is extremely sensitive compared to cork. It's useful for lure fishing (it's easy to feel bite vibrations that travel up the braid down the rod and into the grip) but I'm unsure of its value for fly fishing.

Steven

pati

Hi Rob

Good to see you posting, I hope all is well.

Not all carbon handles are created equal. Some are literally twice as heavy as other due to slpppy varnishing. The type of foam used under the carbon sheet is of prime importance in particular too, some guys alternate foam and plastic discs to get direct contact to the blank before covering that with the carbon sleeve matrix.

From what I have read and heard it s particularly useful for euronymphing with increased sensitivity in the hand, but that’s not first hand experience. Another advantage is gor saltwater because the epoxy coating makes it indestructible whereas cork gets abused quite quickly with salt and sand.

I wonder if the handle gets cold in the winter though?

Cheers

JayP

Carbon fly rod handles are becoming more popular but I still have reservations, is it just another load of marketing hype from the tackle industry ??

Has anyone tried them ?

Are they more sensitive ( than cork) as claimed?

Do they last well, are they robust?