CHURCH FRY

sightbob

Just been clearing out some old fly boxes
and came across a fly i used with great success
in the past. The Church Fry. Anyone still have success
with it. I believe Bob Church designed it in 1963.
John

mebu

Used to be very popular on the big reservoirs, as it was very successful later in the season when the fish were on fry, bet it would work well today as well.

Peter

BobP

I tied hundreds of the things when I was a part-time pro fly dresser. Never caught a damn thing on it myself. The number of squirrel tails I went through in those days beggared belief. I couldn't pass a dead squirrel on the road without checking his tail for suitability and I used to badger the local gamekeepers where I used to go beating for tails.

LukeNZ

The polystickle was another great fly of that era on the reservoirs. Made with a strip of polythene bag, much like wrapping on tinsel, except wrapping it and stretching it to build up a nice translucent carrot shape over a tinsel wrapped hook, with a marabou or similar tail added first.
Remember trying one at Langholm; sometimes the trout were strangely foul hooked around the face and on the outside of the mouth - apparently trout will crash into sticklebacks to disorientate them, and then come back and take them head first more easily, as my friends dad explained at the time.

Last edited:

flyfisher222

Banned
Banned
I tied hundreds of the things when I was a part-time pro fly dresser. Never caught a damn thing on it myself. The number of squirrel tails I went through in those days beggared belief. I couldn't pass a dead squirrel on the road without checking his tail for suitability and I used to badger the local gamekeepers where I used to go beating for tails.
After 40 plus years of it I've found that the only thing that matters is white, grey, brown, or black and close to size 14. And I'm not at all sure any of that matters as you might equally well have caught it on something else.