Deer Hair Emerger

PaulD

Still churning out the emergers, and now my variation of the ever popular Deer Hair Emerger, which I tie in 14, 16 and 18.

Deer Hair Emerger

Hook:
TMC212TR, size 14
Thread: Fish On Ultimate,Brown
Body: Tan SLF
Rib: Clear strand from Christmas tree netting
Thorax: Hares Ear
Wing: Coastal Deer

Deer Hair Emerger.JPG

Gary Ridgeway

I am surprised you use barbed hooks? Wyatts fly has a very pronounced thorax, not sure you could call that a DHE.

Spider

Gary I'd suggest that tying might work better for olives and a scruffier one for sedges. There again I'm not a trout so.... Nice one Paul.

PaulD

I am surprised you use barbed hooks? Wyatts fly has a very pronounced thorax, not sure you could call that a DHE.

The TMC212Y and slightly 'heavier' TMC212TR are favoured hooks of mine, I use the 212TR for when I'm tying with Deer Hair. With regard to fishing, it's a simple and easy task to crush and flatten the barb. I have been tying flies for over 50 years and have no intention of throwing away many hundreds of hooks when I can crush a barb.

I didn't actually call it a Wyatt's DHE did I? It's an emerger, it's tied with deer hair, put them together and what have you got . . . . my, my, a Deer Hair Emerger! If you like, I'll rename it Deidre?

banag

Thank you for posting photograph. In proportion, taper, ribbing, thorax and wing, Deirdre is a lovely lady. Can't understand barbed comment.:whistle:
I've always thought of DHE's as generic flies, like Dabblers, Crunchers, Snatchers, Hedgehogs, etc., with no singular, definitive recipe.
This one is easy on the eye.

Spider

My sister is a Deirdre. She can be scruffy enough when she wants. The name works for me :)

Wee Jimmy

What’s with the negative vibes....?? I’m surprised anyone uses barbless hooks, so what...? I’m sure no one gives a **** what I like and rightly so.The hooks we prefer to use is sod all to do with anyone else.

baltic