Epic 3wt - 370 FastGlass® Fly Rod Building Kit

Green29

Has anyone tried one of these kits on sale at £208 so tempted. I have never tried to build a rod before is this a good place to start. A bit nervous about cocking it up.

glosterboy

I've built a Epic 476 and love it. I didn't by the kit just the blank so cant comment on that but If it all comes from Epic I'm sure it'll be top quality. I don't think you can go wrong at that price.
The perceived wisdom is to buy a cheap blank and have a go at that first but its really not that difficult.
My first build was on a Harrison blank whilst its not perfect I'm very happy with it.
There's loads of good advice on here and elsewhere on the net. If you're still nervous about having a go watch a few youtube videos and then decide.

JayP

Has anyone tried one of these kits on sale at £208 so tempted. I have never tried to build a rod before is this a good place to start. A bit nervous about cocking it up.

If this is being shipped from outside the EU bear in mind there's a good chance you'll get hit for import duty/ VAT/ handling fee which will add about £60 to the landed price.

There are loads of YouTube vids that will get you going and the hardest part will be mixing, applying and keeping the resin dust-free as it cures.

Rob Edmunds

My good friend is actually in the process of building 2 of the exact rods ( one for me, the other for himself)....and he has a couple of other Epic Rods and Blue Halo's being a "Glass Geek".

We have both held the "naked" blank and given it a waggle, and I know you can't really tell much without eyes, handle or a line on it, but it seems very nice....fittings are very good .....we think the kit is good value, and good quality.

petevicar

Epic make good stuff.
The kits are supposed to be really good with everything you need and full instructions.
It's the perfect way to get into rod building however you should be careful you may become addicted.

Green29