Gear for Caithness

fatfifer

Hi All,
I am new to all this at the ripe old age of 61. I've only had three days so far on small stillwaters and caught my first trout today. I have a 10' 8wt rod and an old greys reel with interchangeable spools. I have a floating, an intermediate and a sinking line and three spare spools.
I'll be up in Caithness for a few days in June. Will my rod and lines be ok for the lochs there? If not presumably a lighter road and matching lines but can I still use the same reel?
I could stretch to a couple of hundred quid if I needed to/ knew what to get.

eddleston123

Yes, your outfit will catch fish, but an 8# set up, is a bit overkill for relatively small wild brownies.

You do not say, if you will be fishing from bank or boat, but if you are fishing from the bank, then a 9' 5# outfit would, imo be more than adequate.

Your present reel will be fine.

Douglas

fatfifer

Many thanks for the reply. I will be fishing from the bank - this time anyway. I thought I might need a lighter set up but just wasn't sure how light to go. I have been in Caithness before (not fishing) and I'm aware that a light breeze to the locals would be a howling gale to most of us.

punt12

John Norris are selling a Shakespeare omni kits for £29.99 it includes line rod and reel. It's a complete bargain.

codyarrow

Which Lochs are you intending to fish? Or where are you staying?
I personally would'nt go down to a 5wt rod, I tried it and the relationship between line weight and wind is dis agreeable on too many occasions. I'd go for a 10ft 6/7wt rod which will probably be more useful to you when you go back home. Floating line is all you need.
Some of the Lochs are easier than others, and some you need to be careful if you're wading.

nigel67

Yes, your outfit will catch fish, but an 8# set up, is a bit overkill for relatively small wild brownies.