Go to camera settings/mode

T_James

I am going to make a concerted effort to really improve my fishing photography this year. I have a sound understanding of photography so wouldn't describe myself as a total beginner. My first DSLR was purchased two years ago and used for carp fishing self takes and more recently fly fishing captures and scenics.

Up until this week I used purely manual mode, however the more I read about photography the more I appreciate that manual has limitations - for example changing light in mixed sun/clouds.

What modes to you guys use for your fishing (i.e. aperture, shutter priority)?

I use a
Canon 6D mk1
Canon 40mm 2.8stm
GIMP
Gobe polarising filter (in post atm)

Cap'n Fishy

I tend to use shutter priority with Auto ISO, in conjunction with evaluative metering. In the majority of the fishing situation shots I am taking, the shutter speed is the most important issue, so that is the one I want to take control of. I find evaluative metering is trustworthy enough in the majority of situations. However, I also bracket the non-action shots (3, based at 0, -1, + 1 EV), where possible, to give me the options when evaluative metering doesn't quite get it right... and it also gives me the chance to do HDR blends. Adobe camera RAW is so good now that you can blend almost any set without worrying about registry from hand-held shots. It really helps to get both sky and land good in the same frame.

This was an HDR blend of 3 frames - the camera was moving, the photographer was moving, the subject was moving the boat was moving, the water was moving and the background was moving. All just a case of feeding the 3 frames to ACR and saying do it... and it did...

(Click on images for 1500 px wide view.)

I use manual with Auto ISO - so the camera is still taking care of metering the exposure - in situations where I want to control both shutter speed and aperture... for example the leaping salmon shots...