Grunters and hackle length

kenyanscott

Hi guys

I’m going to start tying grunters and I’m A bit sure on the hackle length.

I know the normal rule or thumb is as wide as the gape of the hook.
But I’m also aware that for grunters they are meant to sit high as as such you can use longer hackles.

Can anyone offer me some advice on this?

Cap'n Fishy

Hi guys

I’m going to start tying grunters and I’m A bit sure on the hackle length.

I know the normal rule or thumb is as wide as the gape of the hook.
But I’m also aware that for grunters they are meant to sit high as as such you can use longer hackles.

Can anyone offer me some advice on this?
I'm new to grunters myself, but from what I can make out, the idea is to get the arse end to sit down and into the water, a la Klinkhamer, and have the hackle form a 'skirt', out over the surface film, with the CDC plumes sticking up above the surface.

If that is so, then the width of the skirt of hackle is up to you - can be short or long. However, if you go with what I have seen as the basic recipe of: a cock hackle and a partridge hackle then, as partridge hackles are mostly similar in length, that will dictate to some extent the general length. Yes?

Col

kenyanscott

Ah that makes sense.

iwasnt aiming to have crazy sizes on the hackles but my partridge hackles are of a decent size and I wanted to make sure it is balanced.
I’m still working the best way to get the partridge tied in first then the hackle covering.

tne ones your have all look cracking!! Some great tying there

Cap'n Fishy

I’m still working the best way to get the partridge tied in first then the hackle covering.
The order I have been doing them is:

1) Prepare the tag, then varnish and set-aside.
2) Tie in the CDC and trim the stubs at a slope
3) Dub on the hare's ear body and rib with wire, leaving a gap between the front of the body and the CDC
4) Wind in the cock hackle, into the gap