help me choose rod length please

fatfifer

Hi all, I have the chance to buy a shakespeare agility 10' #5, or the same rod in 8'6" length. Both are second hand and on sale locally. I don't have enough cash for both. I'm fairly new to fly fishing and so far have been fishing small still waters( with a Stillwater performance 10' #7/8 which is my only rod at the moment) but I'm hoping to try my hand at fishing lochs in the Scottish highlands for wild brown trout this coming season. I've been looking for a 9'#5 but not seen any as cheap as the 8'6" or 10' mentioned above.
I will be bank fishing and don't have waders yet either. Which length would you recommend or should I go for a new cheap 9' #5?
Any thoughts much appreciated.
Ewan

bobmiddlepoint

...but I'm hoping to try my hand at fishing lochs in the Scottish highlands for wild brown trout this coming season.

The Agility 10' #5 will be spot on for the lochs from either boat or bank. One thing to be aware of is fair percentage of Agilitys seem to suffer from loose joints, so give it a good wiggle before you buy!

lee71

The Agility 10' #5 will be spot on for the lochs from either boat or bank. One thing to be aware of is fair percentage of Agilitys seem to suffer from loose joints, so give it a good wiggle before you buy!

It was the Agility 2 that had loose joints, never heard the originals having them.:thumbs:

It shouldn't happen but a bit of candle wax cures loose joints.

fatfifer

Many thanks for all the replies.
I'll definitely be having one of those lines, Dave.
I like the look of the Grey's and I've had a wee try of my brother in laws grey's streamflex 70 and really liked that. So probably leaning more towards that now.
Ewan

G

guest54

Depending on the kind of fishing you are planning on doing you should choose the rod most suited.
If it's small water, nymph, dry fly, lure, I would choose the 8'6".