Help with which rod to buy for loch fishing from the bank

Johnny McEachen

Good morning. I've been fly-fishing on and off for years with a basic cheap rod #8 9'6 but its time to upgrade. my problem is that with my rod I use I can fish a single fly no problem but when I try and fish droppers I'm struggling with tangles as the loop is tight. I'm looking for a new rod and reel that will help me but I'm not experienced enough to decide rod size/weight of line and action of rod to make a proper decision. I've been looking at 10' #7 rods such as the GR60 or the Wychwood rs series. any help would be much appreciated

keef68

Hi Johnny

Most people would advise you to try a rod before you buy it (good advice), but with the situation we’re all in at the moment that’s not always possible.

It kind of depends what kind of fishing you’re doing. If you use heavy sinking lines a lot, then a 10’ 7wt would probably be a good option, but if you mainly use floater and intermediates, you might want to consider going down to a 6wt. Personally I like a 9’ 6” rod for fishing from the bank, but that really is down to personal preference.

Both the rods you mention are good - I know people who have them, and they’re really happy with them. There just so much choice nowadays to be honest! Another one to consider would be the Vision Onki.

Cheers

Keith

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

keef68

Sorry - just remembered another couple of rods you might want to look at:

Guideline Elevation 9’9” 7wt

Loop Evotec

Loop Cross SX

The Loop rods are available on the Loop Outlet store and are heavily discounted.

The current issue of Trout & Salmon also has a review of 10’ 7wt rods.

Cheers

Keith

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

icejohn