How do I start on a lake

JobberDun

Hello all,

I'm new to fly fishing and I thought I would ask for some advice.

If I arrive at a new lake I would normally ask in the shop about what flies are catching, what area of the lake are they catching at and how are they catching them.

So my question is, what do I do if I cannot get an answer to these questions.

Would you start off fishing deep and work your way up in the water, or would you start on the surface and work you way down?

I went fishing at Thornwood Springs last week and Bert told me that they were catching on the surface on one lake, and catching around six feet deep on the other lake!

As a newbie I need all the help I can get.

Thanks in advance.

Russ

m r roid

Hi Russ, and welcome to the forum!
I would start fishing high in the water and make my casts in a left/right arc in front of me. If that didn't attract any takes, I would let the fly sink a little deeper and repeat casting in an arc. If I still didn't get any takes I would either change fly, or move to another swim

doobrysnatcher

im assuming that your fishing from the bank, or are you in a boat, if from a boat i would bail the water out first
but if fishing from the bank i would usually stop for a moment and see whats hatching are the fish rising and where , what type of rise if any one else is catching id watch them and try to decipher what it is they are doing
if they arent catching i would start at the opposite side of the spectrum as their technique may not be working
so if an angler is catching on a bright line i would also try a bright line also
if he isnt catching with a bright line i would start with a darker line and so on if you know what i mean
observation and location are the imo the keys to a good day
i also agree with mr r roid with the above method if theres no other anglers around
try to get to know whats likely hatching at any particular time of the year /day /season