Is a 9' 5# too light a rod for small stilwaters?

fatfifer

I am fairly new to fly fishing and have been using a 10' 7/8# rod with 8# lines floating and sinktip on small stillwaters. Recently I bought a 9'5# agility 2 and a 5# floating line for using on trips up to Caithness. However I'm not likely to be going to Caithness for a while and am dying to try out the new rod. The place I usually go to has some big rainbows(a 13lb fish was taken a couple of weeks ago - not by me sadly!). So my question is if I try out my new rod at my usual place and happen to be fortunate enough to hook a monster what is the worst that can happen? ie could I break the rod ?I generally use 8lb fluoro.
Sorry if this is a stupid question.
Thanks in advance,
Ewan

bonefishblues

You're mistaking the fish weight rating for the AFTM rating I think - your rod will only handle up to 5lb, so absolutely no, don't fish for bigger fish as it will void the warranty.

Harvey

Hi Ewan.
Your 5# will be fine in fact it is my chosen weight for small stillwaters. My club waters also have some big fish and I have landed plenty with my 5#s. The worst that could happen is your tippet will snap but this is more unlikely with the 5# than the 8# as the 5# will bend and absorb the shock better. It is the wind strength that determines which rod I use; no wind up to light wind I will use a 5# with 5# line, as the wind picks up I'll put a 6# line on the 5# rod. Windy and I'll use a 7# rod and line, again putting a 8# line on it as the wind picks up, finally moving up to a 8# rod with 8# line in very windy conditions. Hope this helps.

noel

If I understand bonefishblues correctly then for say a 15lb fish we need a 15wt rod.

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

D

Deleted member 8214

I've used #5wt rods on our local reservoirs for several years now and find them perfectly adequate and they are a lot more pleasure to use than a #7wt. I've also landed fish up to 12lb.

linkledger