Leader catching on fly line

RM1234

I have recently got into fly fishing and working on my casting, I am getting there with loading the rod and tight loops however I am having alot of issues with the back and forward casts tangling although rod is loaded. The line shoots forward but the leader just wraps around the fly line. Any suggestions?

GEK79

I have recently got into fly fishing and working on my casting, I am getting there with loading the rod and tight loops however I am having alot of issues with the back and forward casts tangling although rod is loaded. The line shoots forward but the leader just wraps around the fly line. Any suggestions?
Now I'm no expert but how long is your leader. Have you a fly attached or just practicing.. Is it a taperedleader.. How is it connected to the fly line.. May seem like alot of questions but understanding your outfit and set up will help try to sort your issue.
Gary

RM1234

Hi Gary thanks for the reply, I use 9ft tapered leader 9ft 5wt rod with a size 12 fly on the end. Hope this helps

GEK79

Hi Gary thanks for the reply, I use 9ft tapered leader 9ft 5wt rod with a size 12 fly on the end. Hope this helps
Now there could be many things at play.. Possible the hackle of fly causing spin which causes the line to tangle.. A size 12 fly is big enough perhaps your leader is too thin.. Do you know what diameter the leader is.. They are just a few ideas.. There's a chance I'm miles of but just a few ideas.. I think somewhere there is a rule of x for leaders and size flies to use but I'm not completely sure..

shpeil

Could be a tailing loop. To simplify, the cause is too much power causing the rod to overload. This means the rod bends too much and the tip, instead of tracing a straight line front to back and back to front, instead dips below that line in the middle of the stroke. The line/leader follows the rod tip resulting in the fly line crossing itself. It's a very common casting problem.