Major forum upgrade on it's way!

Wee Jimmy

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 13, 2007
Messages
8,429
Location
Fife
No multi quote or quoted text function....oops there it is...:thumbs:
 

cb

Fish&Fly
Staff member
Joined
Oct 1, 2008
Messages
1,594
Location
Cumbria
It is open but I'm working with server support to resolve speed issues. When we get to the bottom of it - I'll let you know!

It is still "Ground Under Repair" I'm afraid.

cb
 

aenoon

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 12, 2009
Messages
11,677
Location
Linlithgow, Scotland and anywhere i can wet a line
It is open but I'm working with server support to resolve speed issues. When we get to the bottom of it - I'll let you know!

It is still "Ground Under Repair" I'm afraid.

cb
Just logged in for the first time in 3 days.
Ground under repair?
Big hole in the ground perhaps?
Time to load pages/threads/forum lists very slow.
Is this how it will be going forward, or are there issues with the changeover(relating to speed) that you will fix?
regards
bert

- - - Updated - - -

It is open but I'm working with server support to resolve speed issues. When we get to the bottom of it - I'll let you know!

It is still "Ground Under Repair" I'm afraid.

cb
Just logged in for the first time in 3 days.
Ground under repair?
Big hole in the ground perhaps?
Time to load pages/threads/forum lists very slow.
Is this how it will be going forward, or are there issues with the changeover(relating to speed) that you will fix?
regards
bert
 

themind

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 17, 2014
Messages
1,654
Location
Kent, garden of England with a hosepipe ban!
Ok the page loading is going very slowly. I'm averaging between 15 and 25 seconds per page to open on the forum. Compare this with the sister site in America where its taking a second or less.

Any ideas on whats happening? thats not just an indexing issue.

Steve
 

richardw

Trade Member
Joined
May 18, 2006
Messages
10,555
Location
On the banks of the Derbyshire Wye
Someone put a message up on Facebook if and when the forum gets up to speed again. It is failing to load up photographs from URL or from own PC and everything is taking ages. It worked fine with the old software...

richard
 

3lbgrayling

Well-known member
Joined
May 17, 2006
Messages
31,089
Location
Central Scotland
C'mon Richard.You've been here before.you know the scrip.these upgrades never goe smoothly. In saying that it seems to be working fine for me.
 

Cap'n Fishy

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 29, 2008
Messages
25,234
Location
Embra
C'mon Richard.You've been here before.you know the scrip.these upgrades never goe smoothly. In saying that it seems to be working fine for me.
Exactly. Jeezo - it's not like Admin haven't said in great big ****-off letters, "IT'S GOING TO BE RUNNING SLOW FOR A WHILE. PLEASE BEAR WITH US." And, "FIXES STILL IN PROGRESS". Even put a sticky at the top of the new posts page to this effect. And yet about half the new posts consist of people saying, "This new forum is very slow, isn't it?" Duh-uh!

So far, I only have one gripe... could we get the old "roll-eyes" emoticon back? The new one :)rolleyes:) is rubbish!

Col
 

sofasurfer

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 22, 2013
Messages
688
Location
Sussex
I like it, particularly the 'mark all forums read' button, get's rid of the boring bits with one click :)
 

vital

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 9, 2009
Messages
269
Location
South of England
I don't think the update or the software are quite as slow as me! One question: what exactly is the 'Blog this post' button designed to do? I don't want to 'hit' it to find out, especially if it can't be reversed. High tech subject, low tech person you see...
Thanks in anticipation
 

Cap'n Fishy

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 29, 2008
Messages
25,234
Location
Embra
I don't think the update or the software are quite as slow as me! One question: what exactly is the 'Blog this post' button designed to do? I don't want to 'hit' it to find out, especially if it can't be reversed. High tech subject, low tech person you see...
Thanks in anticipation
Yeh - I was wondering what that did too.

 
Last edited:

bibio1st

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 25, 2011
Messages
8,508
Location
the better land
Why can't I post videos anymore, just links or like the last post with just youtube showing, I'm following the same things I did before :(

Oh yes, it's painfully slooooooow :eek:hno:

Steve
 

cb

Fish&Fly
Staff member
Joined
Oct 1, 2008
Messages
1,594
Location
Cumbria

To load video - just use the video clip icon and insert url.

Or simply type :

Code:
[ video ]
around your video url
Code:
[ /video ]
(without the spaces)
 
Last edited:

bibio1st

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 25, 2011
Messages
8,508
Location
the better land
Clear as mud to a Luddite like me, why can’t I copy the link from the share this video option and paste it in to my post like before?

Are we going to get the juke box music videos back?

Steve
 

mark miwurdz

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 1, 2018
Messages
76
Location
Uk
Clear as mud to a Luddite like me, why can’t I copy the link from the share this video option and paste it in to my post like before?

Are we going to get the juke box music videos back?

Steve

From what cb is saying, you would have to edit your posts to put the video tags around the previous posts/links
 
Top