Meon Springs Fly Fishery, Hampshire

neil_maidment

IMG_2853800x600.jpg

IMG_2856800x600.jpg

carpy10

meon

im new to the sport and found this place quite easy the fish are strong fighting the bailiff/keith is very nice guy the price is a bit steep in my opiniun 29 pound for 2 fish then 7.50 a fish after that.the fish are average 2lb and you will be lucky if u get much better than that i did get 1 at 4lb the other day looking for somewhere new /local any ideas

BrownieBasher

im new to the sport and found this place quite easy the fish are strong fighting the bailiff/keith is very nice guy the price is a bit steep in my opiniun 29 pound for 2 fish then 7.50 a fish after that.the fish are average 2lb and you will be lucky if u get much better than that i did get 1 at 4lb the other day looking for somewhere new /local any ideas

Agree re meon, I've fished it a few times, and had a resident brown out of there at 8lb once, but overall the fish are small and a little overpriced imo. Try Moorhen which is about 15 mins away. a lovely little venue with some decent fish in it. Used to do a C&R ticket too, but not sure if they do so now, as it's under new management.

---------- Post added at 01:40 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:37 PM ----------

verdict attached

noel

How do these places get away with these prices up here we pay £23 for 4 and on some of the reservoirs £18 for 6

AidanCole

South-central England is a very dear place in general for just about everything - sadly, the big overheads need to be met and that is therefore reflected in the prices charged.
Meon Springs is by no means the dearest in the area by a long-shot

noel

Hi AidanCole I mentioned this as someone who's daughter and son in law live in Portchester R.N.,I would love to go fishing when visiting but at those prices forget it. Take care of yourself Noel

carpy10

meon