Net question

Rod44

So im getting everything together ready for a go at the trout on the river , complete newbie to it all and its going to be a big dose of trial and error . Anyone recommend a functional net and best way to carry it ? Im intending wearing my chesties and a small back pack , as i will be doing a fair bit of roving .

Cheers
Rod

Mrtrout

Great thankyou , im assuming rubberised mesh is the way to go then ?

They do both rubber or nylon mesh, I’ve always used a mesh one but fancied trying the rubber type.
If you do order one make sure you get that magnet lanyard, you won’t find a better one for £3.99 it has a super long coil lanyard.
S.

- - - Updated - - -

I just realised, if you get that net it comes with the magnetic keeper as well. :thumbs:
S.

Rod44

Really appreciate the promptly given advice thankyou . I saw in Sportfish catalogue theres a Smith Creek net holster that fits on your wading belt , looks a neat idea but pricey gadgets i will not get into until i find my feet a bit and what works for me .

haggstock

The best way to carry your net is this . Half a two part magnet fastened to the loop on the back of your wading jacket or fly vest or backpack ( use a £1 carabiner clip ) the other half of the magnet cable tied to the front of your net frame . I’m not a lover of the curly cables on the Chinese magnets , so I use about 4 feet of shock cord from Go Outdoors , fasten one end to the carabiner clip the other to your net handle . Now the net will hang on your back , detach with a quick tug and you can reattach it just by waving around the back of your neck . The shock cord is light strong and stretchy .

I’m also not a fan of the clear rubber “ ghost nets “ . I think they are too shallow. But that’s just an opinion . If you want a net for life , buy a Brodin .

taffy1