new to fly fishing

Fozzer

Hi I am a coarse angler but would like to learn how to fly fish I have fished on rivers for grayling trotting for them in the winter it is my favourite angling, I just don't know how to get started what gear I would need, do I get an instructor or just to watch videos and do some reading. I would like to fly fish for trout and grayling but there is so much its a bit complicated for a novice, what rod length weight, what fly line, then there is the leader the flies themselves, how does one learn all this then there is the casting itself which will take some time any help much appreciated thanks in advance.

T

Toter Fisch

I was a beginner last year at least where rivers are concerned (I had previously fly fished still waters but had a break of about 10 years) so I know some of what you are going through.

My advice would be to keep it as simple as possible (but I am a minimalist). 4 weight rod (9 - 10 foot) and floating line, 5X leader same length as the rod and a few spider patterns is where I am at after a season of experimentation. Works pretty well for me.

If you search 'getting started in fly fishing' on youtube, the videos from mad river outfitters would get you up to speed in no time. They also have a few good videos on casting.

Hope this helps

GEK79

Hi I am a coarse angler but would like to learn how to fly fish I have fished on rivers for grayling trotting for them in the winter it is my favourite angling, I just don't know how to get started what gear I would need, do I get an instructor or just to watch videos and do some reading. I would like to fly fish for trout and grayling but there is so much its a bit complicated for a novice, what rod length weight, what fly line, then there is the leader the flies themselves, how does one learn all this then there is the casting itself which will take some time any help much appreciated thanks in advance.