Newbie looking for info!

naturenattie

Hi Everyone,

I hope this is the right place for this post! I am new to the UK and new to fly fishing in general. Did it a bit when I was younger with my mom but I would like to start getting into it seriously! I am looking for any and all advice/info for UK fishing- What rod/weight is most appropriate for fishing here and recommendations on make/model (greys, Shakespeare, Orvis?) , best places (I am in North Yorkshire), and generally what are the rules about fishing here? It seems you need a rod fishing license for all England and then if it's private land to buy day tickets is that correct? If someone knows of a fishing company that does beginner courses or helps a newbie like me out that would also be appreciated!

noel

Welcome to the forum, have you thought if you are going to river fish or stillwater ?

noel

That will help with further advice from the members . Someone will give you more advice on those lines .

noddy299

Welcome, you could do worse than a few hours with these guys.

North Yorkshire based, do river and stillwaters. Marina Gibson runs the place and she seems to know a thing or two.

jaybeegee

Hi and welcome to the forum. Yes, you will need an Environment Agency rod licence and then (in most cases) a day or season permit for your chosen water. Check out the Onstream Guide website, there is lot’s of useful stuff on there and Jonathan Barnes also guides in the Tees area.

B

JayP

Hi and welcome to the forum. Yes, you will need an Environment Agency rod licence and then (in most cases) a day or season permit for your chosen water. Check out the Onstream Guide website, there is lot’s of useful stuff on there and Jonathan Barnes also guides in the Tees area.

B
Has he learnt how to mend line yet?

GEK79

Hi Everyone,