Norvise Hook Size

webblade

I'm considering the Norvise. I have the Norvise Auto Bobbin and I love it. I use my rotary in every aspect of my tying and think the Norvise would be a good fit. I'd say 99% of my flies are tied on size 14 and 16 hooks unless I'm tying a streamer for winter fishing the lakes. I'm wondering about access to the size 16 hook when in the Norvise jaws. I know I can get the Fine point jaws but I think they look like they vibrate the vice more than the standard jaws but I may be corrected on this by those that have them. I seen Norm tie a size 20 on YouTube on the standard jaws but would like to hear the views of others on here that own the vice. Are the fine point jaws necessary for a size 16 hook?

senegals

Hi

I'm fairly new to fly tying and chose the Norvise after watching a few or norms videos and liked the concept.

I have Norvise with just the regular jaws and manage to tie down to size 16 but I am tempted to get the fine point jaws as I think they will give me greater access to tie tails at the back of the fly. I tend to just position the hook higher in the jaws to get around access.

The Norvise is a different concept in fly tying in that you use the rotary function to apply thread / materials but it still functions in the conventional manner if needed.

This is a fair review that is worth watching Global Flyfisher Nor Vise review

It a shame you are not local as you could have borrowed it for a couple of weeks to see how you got on with it.

Regards
Bob

webblade

Hi

I'm fairly new to fly tying and chose the Norvise after watching a few or norms videos and liked the concept.

I have Norvise with just the regular jaws and manage to tie down to size 16 but I am tempted to get the fine point jaws as I think they will give me greater access to tie tails at the back of the fly. I tend to just position the hook higher in the jaws to get around access.