Not my usual thing.

splinters

Most of my rods are in bamboo but I needed (wanted) a spare for the boat. This is a ten foot four piece #5
Blank from Mick Bell, seat from Taniwha. Wraps are garnet silk with fine round gold trim.
#1.JPG1603742590849.jpeg#3.JPG#4.JPG
I ran out of Threadmaster Lite and had to change to Flexcoat. It seems less forgiving than the Threadmaster. Hard to keep the bubbles out and not very good at self leveling. Anyone else have trouble with it?
S.

Lewis Chessman

Masterful, Simon. which of Mick's blanks is it?
As for FlexCoat, I've been whinging about FC Lite for two years now. I'm just too stingy to throw the damned stuff out so keep using it! ;)
I've not had issues with bubbles but certainly have with self-levelling.

Whose gold trim is that? I like the width - is it one turn of a wide thread or several turns of fine?
Do you find that the metallic thread can separate from the cotton core to show a sort of spiral effect? It's a problem I've found if I pull too hard on the tag ends - which I sometimes do in trying to keep the entire whipping level. I'd have to check to see what thread I was using, though.

splinters

Masterful, Simon. which of Mick's blanks is it?
As for FlexCoat, I've been whinging about FC Lite for two years now. I'm just too stingy to throw the damned stuff out so keep using it! ;)
I've not had issues with bubbles but certainly have with self-levelling.

Whose gold trim is that? I like the width - is it one turn of a wide thread or several turns of fine?
Do you find that the metallic thread can separate from the cotton core to show a sort of spiral effect? It's a problem I've found if I pull too hard on the tag ends - which I sometimes do in trying to keep the entire whipping level. I'd have to check to see what thread I was using, though.