Potential fishing location (Ottery, Cornwall)

Jimfandango

Hi all.
I'm a farmer and not really a fisherman but I am after some advice/information, well any input really. If you could help it would be much appreciated.

We have approximately 1 mile stretch of one bank of the river ottery. It is mainly trout and sometimes has early salmon, not sure of what else. The access is reasonable but could be improved.
I am considering potentially offering it privately. I'm not really sure of the quality of the fishing and thus whether it would be an attractive proposition or not. Presumably some sort of camping option would be preferable. There are also nearby holiday cottages which might be an option. Is a subscription/membership model favoured by you guys or a sort of pay as you go thing?

Cheers

thetrouttickler

I've added a link to Fish Pass too now (which is probably the wider known of those links anyway)
I see they have a stretch of the Ottery, sounds an easy way to offer access.

ps off topic but I like the look of the Heddon Valley... anyone fished it?

elver1

You could try speaking to Scott West from the West Country rivers trust. Appreciate you said in your post you want to offer it privately, however they do a passport scheme and they will give you an honest evaluation and could help/suggest any habitat in- river improvements

catzrob

Fish Pass is the West Country Rivers Trust's app. It's a great way to let people on the river.

I will also volunteer to come and test the fishing any time you like.
Not fished it but walked it. It's lovely and there are certainly fish to be seen!

tierradelfuego

I see they have a stretch of the Ottery, sounds an easy way to offer access.