predator 9ft #9 4piece

doobrysnatcher

this is my new set up for pike large 9weight reel , #9 floater line and a 9ft#9 4 piece
has anyone used these rods from maximumcatch ?
210881926_555254739218658_2319795785924052758_n.jpg
211018505_555254782551987_3500338636406340431_n.jpg
210674215_555254832551982_6789940829046428053_n.jpg

roger h 10

I ordered one of these but the order was cancelled by Maxcatch. I ended up buying an ordinary Maxcatch in #12 weight and it's brilliant.

doobrysnatcher

I ordered one of these but the order was cancelled by Maxcatch. I ended up buying an ordinary Maxcatch in #12 weight and it's brilliant.
im new to this pike fishing and a 9ft #9 was recommended to me ,but me being me find it hard to part with money ,hence the introductory rod

jc123

im new to this pike fishing and a 9ft #9 was recommended to me ,but me being me find it hard to part with money ,hence the introductory rod

should be fine , i used to use my 9'6 #8 GR60 but bought an extreme 9' #8 last year to use mainly for pike and its spot on, i'm not one for massive streamers, but it chucks out 3 & 4 " streamers no probs

running bear

I've just had my first decent session/extended trial with the Maxcatch Saltpro 9'#9. Landed 7 to 13.5lb (largest in pic).

I was using the 40+ WF9's (over weight, true to 11's). The salt pro was fine with small to medium pike flies, but I thought a little over gunned with the larger 8" heavy tied patterns. I could solve this by going to a 40+ #8 (still lots of line weight for big flies), or I'd go for the #10 rod (better idea)

I used with an Orvis Mid V (as I do for all pike and salt - cracking reels). I don't like 4" reels for single handers, even light ones don't look right IMHO, but as pike don't need much backing, a larger 7/8 or 7-9 loaded with gel spun would be my preference over a 4" #9/10 reel.

All in all however, an excellent bit of kit for the cash.

Attachments

• DSCF0515.JPG
    DSCF0515.JPG
    3 MB · Views: 19
Last edited: