Recommend a camera

gerry_tweedie

I am looking for a camera, probably from ebay of the likes that will allow me to take really good pics of my flies and fish. I am guessing I will probably be needing a macros lens as well. Any suggestions would be much appreciated. As I am only getting started a cheaper option would be preferable.

olive_dabbler

I am looking for a camera, probably from ebay of the likes that will allow me to take really good pics of my flies and fish. I am guessing I will probably be needing a macros lens as well. Any suggestions would be much appreciated. As I am only getting started a cheaper option would be preferable.
If you think it will be a start, and you’ll upgrade later, then I’d look at second hand DSLRs with lowish shutter counts and 12MP or more. Nikon has an advantage over most other mainstream brands in that its lens mount means you can still use lenses made decades ago, many of which have superb optics. Where macro photography is concerned, autofocus etc. tends to get in the way, so older manual fucus lenses are perfectly usable. Something like a Nikon D300 sells on eBay for £100-£150 and is a superb DSLR. A second-hand Nikon macro starts at around £180, but you can get Sigma or Tamron ones for less. Both Nikon and Canon have vast second hand markets and, with some patience, it is possible to pick up some superb optics for either at quite reasonable prices, they will never be dirt cheap, good optics never are. Hope this helps.

Last edited:

arkle