Replacing my reel seat on my vision.....

paulfish_1

Hi. I have a 9’ #6 vision GT four catapult that I love. I would like to replace the reel seat. I have no rod building experience so I’m looking for some advice to make sure I buy the correct components.
I have watched some videos on YouTube and I’m happy I can do this myself.
I would like a black up locking reel seat and a very small fighting butt to fit? I’m confused about fitting the butt. Do they fit the seat and if so do I need to buy the butt and seat to match.

Thanks
Paul

Lewis Chessman

Hi, Paul. Am I right in thinking that your GT4 is a three-piece? And are there any guides on the butt section? Sorry, I can't find any clear pics of this model.

My first concern is that when you remove the old seat you'll damage the cork hood if the seat is recessed. Then you'll have to bore and shape a new shive to repair the handle and house the reel seat hood of your new seat.
Alternatively, you could buy a new handle with the correct hood recess already reamed, then cut off and glue on the hood from that. (Prob. easiest method).
Or, you could replace the entire cork grip - but may have to be fitted top-down and that will mean removing the winding check and any guides. Removing the check will probably necessitate removing any epoxy over a logo and possibly damaging the logo as a result.
To fit a new grip from the butt you'd have to ream it to accept the butt O.D. at the top. If that's greater that the w/c's O.D. then you'll be left with a gap that will require filler to mask it.

Regarding fighting butts there are two basic types - fixed and removeable.
A Fixed f/b is simply glued onto the base of the butt and should never move. E.g. Here. This will push the reel seat and handle further up the blank dependant on the f/b's length. This may matter in your case.