River Calder, lancs - is this pollution?

donnieh

Not sure if I should report it as i'm no expert but arrived at the Hyndburn & Blackburn AA Dunkirk Farm stretch today and noticed a blue'ish tinge to the water. Then a half mile or so upstream where syke side brook entered the river it was like blue dirty water being poured into the calder. Does this look like an incident?

Attachments

• 20210407_122442_65.jpg
    20210407_122442_65.jpg
    2 MB · Views: 54
  • 20210407_122444_65.jpg
    20210407_122444_65.jpg
    2 MB · Views: 54

Rhithrogena

YES, that was an incident. Needed reporting at the time. By the time an inspection can be made now, it will have all washed downstream and been diluted and hard to trace.
I have been lazy in the past but am determined to report such things this season. Dairy farms have all but killed a lot of the rivers in the South West, in particular the Torridge and Tamar systems.

Mrtrout

We’re there any dead fish?
My experience with them up here is (no dead fish then we don’t want to know)
S.

Rhithrogena

A quick glance at Google maps and the likely source of the 'blue dirty water' would be the Altham industrial estate, surely?
Make the call

donnieh

We’re there any dead fish?
My experience with them up here is (no dead fish then we don’t want to know)
S.
Hi Steven,
Getting that feeling myself after speaking with some fellow fishermen on the ribble. A couple of incidents were reported but no real follow up.

Scotty Mitchell

Farmers. I’d be banned if I posted my true thoughts.
They have utterly decimated the Fife Eden, no inverts or plant life left. Just brown slime the entire length.
The EAA still stock it, but once those are “caught” by the Eastern Europeans employed by the Fruit Farmers, there’s absolutely nothing there to fish for.
Fight for your river now, before it’s too late.
I don’t think the Eden will ever recover, and it’s all down to farming.

bonefishblues

Hi Steven,