Scottish Beginner - Central & North

MarkW

Hi all,

Hope everyone's keeping safe and sane in these weird times!

I'm a beginner, new to the forum and looking for some friendly advice! I suspect like many of you, I come from a long line of fishermen. Unfortunately I am unable to lean on them for their advice for reasons I would rather not go into. So here I am, hoping I can pick some of your brains and hopefully learn some hints and tips. Apologies in advance for a long read with many questions.

For background; I have enjoyed fishing for many years, know some of the more primitive knots and understand some basics. I have finally taken the dive into fly fishing since discovering a starters outfit that was not completely out of financial reach. I spoke with the local shop and was advised to pick up a Shakespeare Sigma Fly 9'6 7wt combo, some flies and some 4lb Drennan tippet. Hopefully this will keep me out of the shop for a few days fishing. After some research I learned that I would also need a leader of some sort and hastily added a couple of Daiwa 9ft 4lb tapered leaders to my basket before ordering.

So my questions;
  • On the basis I will be aiming initially for fisheries and loch fishing, does the above leader and tippet combo sound about right?
  • I believe the Sigma combo comes pre-wound with backing and a looped fly line - Is it a case of a loop to loop knot to connect the leader to the fly line, a double surgeons knot to connect a length of say 2ft of tippet to the leader and finally a clinch knot for the fly ? Should this be enough to get me fishing?
  • I remember learning fly casting many years ago in a field with a napkin pinned to the ground. I've been told to use wool in place of a fly for learning - Does this sound right ? Any suggestions on this ? I do intend to pick up a lesson here or there when funds allow but at the moment it will be a big open field and YouTube...