Selected hooks sizes

JobberDun

Following on from a previous post of mine, I was wondering how many flies on different hook sizes would be the norm?

Would three hook sizes be the norm? For example, a size 14, size 12 and a size 10 hook for the same fly.

Even as a beginner I am amassing a pretty large collection of flies. So would it be good for me to have one of each fly in a different hook size.

What do people do?

Russ

boisker

This relates to rivers, can’t really comment on still-waters...
I carry 14, 16, 18’s... as I tie my own I’d usually have 6 of each with me... I’d also carry size 20’s but usually only 3 or so.... and a few 12’s.
the size I fish most often would be a 16.
i have about 5 or 6 key dry/emerger patterns..(I carry more patterns than this, as I usually have a few ‘new’ ones that I am trying) i would usually carry a couple of colours in each size.. to represent very light and dark coloured flies...I would suggest don’t buy or tie loads of different patterns initially... you’ll spend half your time changing fly patterns and never develop confidence in them... learn to fish and get confidence in a few key patterns.

m r roid

I tend to tie in 2, sometimes 3 hook sizes. No more than 3 though.......
That's not to say it's wrong to do so 😊

BobP

Depends on the fly. Some flies just seem to sit better on a certain hook size. For example, diawl bachs to me seem to sit better and work better on a 12. I do have a number of fly pattern on 10's down to 14's but the largest don't seem to see water that often. Early season if I want to go deep off the bank or sometimes from an anchored boat.

Cap'n Fishy

Following on from a previous post of mine, I was wondering how many flies on different hook sizes would be the norm?

Would three hook sizes be the norm? For example, a size 14, size 12 and a size 10 hook for the same fly.