The problem with knots!

len1

I’ve been fishing for about nine years since I retired and I still get the occasional knot failure with the curly tail as evidence. Talking here about 8lb. Fluoro. Fulling Mill.
I was taught the five turn improved clinch knot. Usually OK sometimes fails. Highly experienced fishing friend recommended seven turns. Still sometimes fails. Now trying out seven turn NOT improved clinch knot.
What’s your ‘go to’ knot with fluoro?
PS Never have this problem with 15/20lb. Maxima when salmon fishing. Mind you I have never caught that many salmon! Lol.

webblade

I second the Davy and Double Davy I've been using it 3 seasons and never have trouble with it. Very easy to tie also.

JCP

Fulling Mill is a ''healthy'' diameter compared to some. Try the knot in dry dock to test it.Try pulling the knot up slowly without wetting.Alternatively as suggeted try the Davy/DD but be aware must pinch have the tag at 90 degrees becuse if it rolls as you seat then it too will slip.

BobP

Don Staziger did a piece on knots some while ago that improved my tying of the 5 turn tucked half blood knot enormously. Bear in mind that no knot is absolutely safe, but the 5 turn knot as shown by Staziger runs out at around 94% which is pretty damned good.

He wrote to tie the 5 turn knot as per usual and having done the "tuck" to then hold the main stem and the standing end between finger & thumb together and draw away from the hook eye. This ill pull that standing end up under the knot. Having done that then "inch" the knot down to the eye with the line well wetted. When drawn up tight the standing end should stick out at about 90 degrees from the knot.

Doing more turns does not improve the knot. In fact it is more likely to do the opposite.

Tangled

All our usual knots are good and the tucked clinch knot is perfectly fine.

But ALL knots occasionally fail because something went a bit wrong in the tying. The solution is to test every knot you make.