The World Cup 2013, Lough Mask

JJ O Malley

Well folks,
Only 13 rod days until world cup 2013..

I finally sent my entry form off today... last minute as per usual. I will be fishing the Sunday..

I'm excited. I don't generally fish competitions, but this is one that i really enjoyed in the past and i'm really looking forward to it...

Now i've got to start thinking about flies... My flyboxes are in a fairly dire state, and i've only got around to tying some patterns over the past week or so.

Who else on the forum is fishing it?

Anyone got any recommendations for flies? I really need to get tying... Any advice would be very much appreciated... I know there are some Lough Mask experts and previous world cup winners on here. Whether they are prepared to share their secrets is another thing :D:D

Best of luck to all fishing it..

Cheers
JJ

123strike

Hey JJ, this is my first year fishing the world cup. Looking forward to it and looking forward to building up my knowledge of the lake with the aid of a quality ghillie. I know Jemo and PJ are regulars on Mask, perhaps they can share some of their knowledge? Ideally i'd like to be fishing drys, conditions permitting..

invicta1953

Unfortunately you may have to resort to fishing the deep water with a slow sinker or intermediate to catch the, "black," plankton feeding fish needed to qualify. Not my favourite form of fishing but when in Rome .... Bright flies seem to work.
One good fish(3lb plus) from the rocky ares could be enough but they are hard to get. Good luck.

tips

Unfortunately you may have to resort to fishing the deep water with a slow sinker or intermediate to catch the, "black," plankton feeding fish needed to qualify. Not my favourite form of fishing but when in Rome .... Bright flies seem to work.
One good fish(3lb plus) from the rocky ares could be enough but they are hard to get. Good luck.