Whats my line?

Buffers

Im new to fly fishing and have collected quite a few old Orvis reels, all have good lines but I have no idea how to know if they are floating or sinking lines, how do I find out, one is a DT I know for sure but no idea if its a floater or not. Any help would be appreciated.
Buffy

Tangled

Light/brightly coloured lines tend to be floaters; dark lines are normally sinkers.

Sinkers are usually thinner. Chuck the first few feet of the line into a bowl of water. It'll either float or sink ;-)

The only way to find out whether double taper or not is to measure it with a micrometer - not easy - or weight the first and last 30'. A double taper will weigh the same, a single taper will have different weights, the heavy end is the front end.

You could try laying the front and rear of the line out side-by-side and seeing if you can detect a difference in thickness. Easier on heavy lines than light ones.

Hardrar

You’re going to need to know the line ratings too, to match them to rods. Weigh the first 30 feet exactly on an accurate digital scale and compare on the various on line weight scales.

3lbgrayling

Jim

Paul_B

Light/brightly coloured lines tend to be floaters; dark lines are normally sinkers.

Sinkers are usually thinner. Chuck the first few feet of the line into a bowl of water. It'll either float or sink ;-)

The only way to find out whether double taper or not is to measure it with a micrometer - not easy - or weight the first and last 30'. A double taper will weigh the same, a single taper will have different weights, the heavy end is the front end.

You could try laying the front and rear of the line out side-by-side and seeing if you can detect a difference in thickness. Easier on heavy lines than light ones.

My intermediate is white :)
My favourite autumn floater is a dark grey :)

Buffers